Here’s a summary of some of the races that were being watched closely Tuesday night. Some races are still too close to call as of Wed. morning. This post will be updated.

See full results here, and here are the select races:

Governor: Democrat Jared Polis andRepublican Walker Stapleton won their respective primaries. They will face off in November.

U.S. House of Representatives (Aurora): Democrat Jason Crow will go up against Republican Congressman Mike Coffman.

U.S. House of Representatives (Boulder): Unopposed Republican Peter Yu will face Democrat Joe Neguse, who won the Democratic primary.

U.S. House of Representatives (Colorado Springs): Republican Congressman Doug Lamborn once again off multiple primary challengers to face Democrat Stephany Rose Spaulding,

Treasurer: This was the tightest race for a statewide office. Either Republican Justin Everett or Brian Watson vs. Democrat Dave Young.

Attorney General: In another tight race, Democrat Phil Weiser has a narrow lead over Joe Salazar. One of them will go up against Republican George Brauchler.

Secretary of State: Democrat Jena Griswold vs. Republican Secretary of State Wayne Williams.


For the state legislature, the key question in November will be: Can Democrats win control of the Colorado State Senate. If so, they will likely control all of Colorado state government, as Democrats are likely to retain control of the state house, and they are probably the favorites to retain the governor’s office, though of course this isn’t certain by any stretch.

To win the state senate, Democrats probably need to win one of these two seats, currently controlled by Republicans:

Senate District 19 (Littleton): Democrat Tammy Story faces Republican State Sen. Tim Neville.

Senate District 24 (Thornton, Northglenn, Westminster): Democrat Faith Winter faces Republican State Sen. Beth Martinez Humenik.

Here are results from few key state legislative primary races:

Senate District 7 (Republican): Ray Scott defeated Dan Thurlow.

House District 4 (Democrat): Serena Gonzales-Gutierrez defeated Amy Beatie and Ed Britt.

House District 9 (Democrat): Emily Sirota defeated Ashley Wheeland.

House District 21 (Republican): Lois Landgraf defeated Raymond Garcia.

House District 22 (Republican): Colin Larson defeated Frank Francone by fewer than 100 votes.

House District 47 (Republican): Don Bendell defeated appointed incumbent Judy Rydberg Reyher.

House District 56 (Republican): Challenger Rob Bockenfeld defeated incumbent Phil Covarrubias.